No Muslim minister in the recently formed government of Narendra Modi


No Muslim minister in the recently formed government of Narendra Modi

Thirty federal and forty-one state ministers make up the newly elected administration led by the Indian prime minister.

While Muslims make up about 14.2% of India’s population overall, Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s administration does not have a single Muslim minister. Modi took the oath of office on Sunday to begin his third term as prime minister of India.

There isn’t a single Muslim among the 30 federal and 41 state ministers in Modi’s new ministry, according to reports from Indian media.

For the first time in Indian history, there isn’t a Muslim lawmaker taking the oath of office following the elections. Typically, at least one Muslim Member of Parliament serves on the council of ministers, which is sworn in following each general election.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is run by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), did not elect any Muslim MPs, which is allegedly the reason for the lack of Muslim representation in the 18th Lok Sabha.

Twenty-one of the 24 members of the lower parliament that were elected come from the INDIA bloc. Furthermore, three hail from Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen, All India.

This evening, during its first meeting, the cabinet of India’s new central government will ask Indian President Droupadi Murmu to call a parliamentary session as soon as possible.

Surprisingly, Modi could not secure a clear majority as he had done the previous two times, and in order to stay in office, the premier had to enlist the help of partners under the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) banner.

The result is viewed as a major blow to the well-liked leader because surveys and exit polls had indicated that the BJP would win even more seats than it did in 2019.

A day prior, thousands of guests, including the heads of seven regional nations, Bollywood celebrities, and business magnates, gathered at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the president’s residence in New Delhi, to witness President Murmu give Modi the oath of office.

Former spokesman for the Hindu nationalist Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), the ideological forerunner of his BJP, Modi is only the second person to hold the position of prime minister for three consecutive terms, following Jawaharlal Nehru, the leader of the independence movement.

After the unexpected outcome, Modi, whose election campaign was characterized by religious rhetoric and accusations that the opposition was favoring India’s 200 million minority Muslims, has taken a more accommodative stance.

The NDA officially designated him coalition chairman on Friday. “We have won the majority, but to run the country, it is unanimity that is crucial… we will strive for unanimity,” he stated.

More News Updates

About The Author

1 thought on “No Muslim minister in the recently formed government of Narendra Modi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Our Newsletter